Seeking Guidance for Virtual Item Placement in a Magic Leap Project

Dear Community,

I’m new to Magic Leap development and would appreciate any guidance you can offer. Thank you in advance for your help!

I’m currently working on a project where I aim to plan the placement of items in a room using a virtual reconstruction of that space. The idea is to create a virtual twin of a room, place items within this virtual scene, and then visualize these items in their planned locations in the physical room using the Magic Leap headset.

My initial approach was to use the Spaces App to scan the scene, import it into Unity, and arrange the items there. Ideally, these virtual objects should appear in the correct physical locations when viewed through the Magic Leap. However, I’ve realized that with the Spaces App, I can only export Spatial Anchors.

Is there a method to scan the environment with Magic Leap, reconstruct it in Unity, and then render virtual objects in the correct physical spaces when viewed through the headset?

Alternatively, could I use a pre-scanned virtual environment and perform external tracking of the Magic Leap to localize it within that virtual space?

Any hints or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Hello,

Welcome to the community! Sounds like a fun project!

First, I'd recommend checking out MagicLeap's Workshop and Assist applications, which are free for you to use on your device-

Workshop is a collaborative design application that lets you import 3d models and other content into a shared space that you can interact with on your ML2 device. It sounds like you wanted to place items in the room using your pc and then view the result on the MagicLeap, but if you are alright with just using your ML2 to place the models in your room directly, and you don't need the design to persist, then Workshop may actually meet your needs.