Best/Quickest approach to create fiducial marker tracking app with OpenCV?

Hi, I'm brand new to the Magic Leap development and just got the ML2 two days ago, and am looking for advice on the best approach to take for my app, such as using Unity vs Native API via android studio.

95% of my programming experience is working with c++ and Qt in Visual Studio, and we would be pairing the Magic Leap with an existing Qt application and code base running on a separate windows 10/11 tablet.

The primary use of the ML2 would be using the camera's video feed to track fiducial markers. We've previously had a lot of success and high accuracy with OpenCV's ArUco codes and would like to use the same on the ML2.
So the workflow would be:

1. Capture 4k video feed on ML2
  2. Run OpenCV's aruco detect markers function to detect all markers in the scene and their corner positions
  3. Send the marker positions to windows machine over UDP/TCP
  4. Run pose estimation on the marker positions and perform other processing using about a dozen c++ libraries and existing code that would be impractical to port or run on the headset
  5. Send computation results back to ML2 over UDP/TCP for basic HUD/display information

I've had only basic experience dabbling in android studio, and never used it for native c/c++ projects, and have no experience in Unity, so I'm hoping someone more experienced could suggest which approach would be best for this type of application?

I've also had a lot of trouble trying to modify one of the ML2 sample Android Studio projects to build and deploy with OpenCV. I don't think I need any other 3rd party libraries, but OpenCV is a must for the initial image processing for corner detection, as wifi video streaming would be too impractical and low quality for our purposes.

Thanks

Hi @alex.teepe,

While we have had developers successfully build OpenCV applications for the ML2 we do not currently have a public sample project with this implementation.